1 hour ago · Tech · hide

When you tell GNU Emacs to save a file, it checks if the modification time of the file has changed since it was loaded into the editor or last saved. If so, it displays a message telling you the file has been modified and asking you to confirm that you want to overwrite the modified version with yours. This is a great idea, until you start working with files managed by Microsoft OneDrive Sync on macOS, and perhaps other sync tools and other platforms. Recently, OneDrive Sync started changing the modification time of a file every time you save it, presumably to match the timestamp when it was successfully synced into the cloud. So if you’re editing and periodically saving a file in your OneDrive folder, then every time you save it, Emacs asks you to confirm that you want to overwrite the modified, but not really, version. How annoying! Well, here’s a fix. If you put the following code into your .emacs file, or put it into a directory in your Emacs load path and put (require…

Commenting on Bubbles has been removed. Why? If you want to talk about this post, write to the author, use the comments on their blog if it has them, or reply with a "RE:" post on your own blog. Suggestions? feedback@bubbles.town