57 minutes ago · Tech · hide

Soon, when you share your file or photo or whatever from Apple's iCloud to "anyone with the link", Apple will check for "harmful content." Apple will, essentially, treat any sharing to "anyone with the link" as the same as sharing to everyone on the internet. In other words, Apple is hosting your file or photo or whatever publicly, and the company decided it will not host anything that is "harmful." Apple will not tell us what it considers "harmful," probably to protect itself. The consequences if Apple found anything it considers "harmful" may be severe. As Apple continues in its support document: If you try to upload harmful content, Apple reserves the right to move, refuse, modify, remove, or delete the content at any time. Apple may also take action against your Apple Account, including blocking or disabling your Apple Account, blocking the ability to create a new Apple Account with the associated email address or phone number, or if necessary, involving law enforcement. Will…

Commenting on Bubbles has been removed. Why? If you want to talk about this post, write to the author, use the comments on their blog if it has them, or reply with a "RE:" post on your own blog. Suggestions? feedback@bubbles.town