2 hours ago · Tech · hide

Apple, in a support article published yesterday (emphasis mine): When you share content that’s stored in iCloud, such as a photo in iCloud Photos or a file in iCloud Drive, you can choose to Share a Link or Send a Copy of the item. If you choose Share a Link, you can either share the item with “People you choose” — only people you invite or approve — or with “Anyone with the link,” which makes it accessible to anyone who has the link, including Apple. Starting in version 27.3 or later of iOS, iPadOS, macOS, and visionOS, items shared using Anyone with the Link will be checked by Apple for harmful content. Good. Many years ago, in covering the iCloud CSAM detection features Apple later scrapped. In my coverage, I wrote: Let’s apply this logic to something less heinous like copyrighted materials. If these files are merely stored in a cloud service and are not being shared to any third party, should the service provider be monitoring its systems and terminating user accounts with files…

Commenting on Bubbles has been removed. Why? If you want to talk about this post, write to the author, use the comments on their blog if it has them, or reply with a "RE:" post on your own blog. Suggestions? feedback@bubbles.town